Tube Stories by The Illustrious Peacock

For a while now, I’ve been debating on whether or not I should share this dark, awkward, and even creepily beautiful series of posts on The Illustrious Peacock titled Tube Stories – Hipstamatic Adventures on the London Underground. I’m still unsure on what it is about these images that is so captivating to me.

There is a slight chance that it is my love for people watching. I can spend hours and hours sitting on a bench looking at people. Some of you might think “Whoa! That’s creepy!”, but I find people captivating. You see someone for a split second and then they are gone, and you might never see them again. I wonder how their life is, if they are happy or if they are sad, where they came from and how they got to be in the exact same place as I am.

The subway (or in this case Tube)… so many people gathered underground, going in the same direction, sharing seats, saying hi to each other, making eye contact with one and other… It is impossible not to look around.

But the most captivating aspect of these images, to me is the fact that even though the “Tube” is a public space, once the moment is captured with a lens, a sense of awkward intrusiveness is added to the pictures and gives them their character.

What do you think of these? Go visit: Tube Stories – Hipstamatic Adventures on the London Underground for the full collection. The photographer updates it constantly so you might catch new ones each time you visit it.

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

oddly beautiful

 

