Banksy – Art is all around

So here’s a little background on my Banksy discovery:

I recently moved and my roommate and I don’t have cable. I don’t watch much T.V., or at least I thought I didn’t, but I guess I watch it much more than I thought because we quickly ran out of shows to watch by hooking up the computer to the TV. So on one night we decided to watch this documentary called “Exit Through the Gift Shop”. I loved it and hated it at the same time. I know it sounds odd but to make the long story short I am glad I discovered Banksy.

So who is Banksy? Banksy is the pseudonymous used by an unidentified England-based Graffiti Artist, Political Activist, Film Director and Painter. His satirical street art and subversive epigrams combine dark humour with graffiti done in a distinctive stencilling technique. Such artistic works of political and social commentary have been featured on streets, walls, and bridges of cities throughout the world.

The most interesting thing for me is that we walk by this type of art every day and we completely ignore it. I wonder why? We go to museums and art galleries and we pay money to watch art that is nicely framed and put up on a wall, why don’t we take 5 minutes of our time to stop and look around to try and find pieces like these…?

His collection is endlessly large. I have a little under 80 images of different pieces so I apologize if I over-Banksy you but I thought this genuinely depicts what OddlyBeautiful is all about. Give us your thoughts on Banksy, graffiti and street art in general. Enjoy!

If you have any images that you would like for me to add to the ones I have posted, please email us.

Boy with Gun

Zorro

You looked better on MySpace

Worthless

What are you looking at?

Washing

Stained Glass Window

Virtual Play, Los Angeles, CA

Urban Education

TV Thrown from a Window

Toxic

Thug for Life

The Mild Mild West

Take this Society

Steam Roller Warden

Snorting Cop

Sniper and Boy

Secured

Rude Boy Rat

Rat Mural – Canal Street, Chinatown, New York City

Rain Umbrella

Pulp

Phone Boxes, New York City

Park

Palestine – Tank

Palestine – Rage

Palestine – Horse

Palestine – Girl with Balloons

Palestine – Girl and a Soldier

Palestine – Gap in the Wall

Palestine – Dove

Palestine – Cut Out

Palestine – Chairs

Painting Cut Out

Off the Wall

No Trespassing

No Ball Games

New Orleans – Simpsons

New Orleans – Rat and Girl

New Orleans – No Loitering

New Orleans – Looters

New Orleans – Girl with Umbrella

New Orleans – Fridge Kite

New Orleans – Boy on a Lifebuoy

New Orleans – Boy and Umbrella

New Orleans – Abraham Lincoln

Naked Man

Museum Guard

Mona Lisa with Bazooka

Mona Lisa Showing Her Bum

Maid

KKK

Kissing Cops

Kentucky Fox

Jumping Girl

Ice Cream Bomb

Hunters

Guantanamo

Graffiti Area

Girl Sliding

Follow your Dreams – Cancelled

Flower

Cowboy Kid

Cave Painting

Cave Man

Cashpoint Girl

Camera man

Barcode Escape

Baby Bath

Artist

Anti-Capitalism for Sale